top of page
Search
  • reneebeuningen

USING MUSIC AS INSPIRATION

Photo 1:

This photo is a variety of beautiful flowers. The picture really gives me a feeling of spring and new things; new adventures, experiences and love, in a romantic and friendship way. The song that came in my mind immediately is "Mystery of Love" - Sufjan Stevens. The song is one of the main songs in the movie "Call my by your name", were a young man finds his first love. The melody of this song is a really soft piano and guitar play. The lyrics that made me think of this flowerbed is "The first time that you touched me. Oh will wonders ever cease? Blessed by the mystery of love." Flowers are signs of love, peace and friendship. That is why I chose this song with this picture.

Photo 2:

The song that I chose with this beautiful picture I took at the beach with an endless path is "Remember when" - Wallows. The lyrics in the song that I wanted to connect this picture with is "I can still see you at the place out there when I close my eyes. Do you remember when we felt like the only two alive?" I think the lyrics match perfectly with the picture I took because the picture gives of the energy that you are the only people on earth. You can not see any other people in the picture and because the picture is cut off at the side, the beach and the path look endless which gives you the illusion that you are alone in a beautiful place with nobody around you. No distractions, only the sound of the sea and the song playing - feeling like the only two alive.

Photo 3:

This ferris wheel is located in Disneyland, California. I love the picture because of the clear blue sky and in the corner the ferris wheel what makes the picture interesting but because of the blue sky, it is not a busy picture. I think it is perfectly balanced. The song that I chose for this picture is "On top of the world" - Imagine Dragons. Ferris wheels do make you feel like you are on top of the world. When we were all in the ferris wheel, you could look over the whole Disney park and that was magical. You saw all the rollercoasters and lights of the restaurants and cafes. You feel like you are on top of Disneyland in that moment and that is why I chose this song.

Photo 4:

The song I chose for this picture is "Summertime Sadness" - Lana Del Ray. I took this picture in the car with my friends on our way to the restaurant for our night out. This picture gives me a summer feeling and also a feeling of nostalgia. It also reminds me of the amazing time I am having here in Canada with all the new friends I met. I love that the road is in the middle of the picture, surrounded by green trees and a pink sky above it. The lyrics in the song that I connected with this picture is "I'm feelin' electric tonight. Cruisin' down the coast, goin' about 99." I have to say that we did not go 99 Kilometres an hour, just clarifying. It feels amazing to be in a car with your friends and enjoying the moment, that is why I chose this song.

Photo 5:

Personally, I love this picture of my two photography friends. The environment is beautiful and we were all trying to cross the mud without getting dirty. A pretty fun and beautiful memory. The song that reminded me of this picture is "8TEEn" - Khalid. The lyrics in the song that reminded me of this picture is "So let's do all the stupid shit that young kids do." We are all still in high school and I think we have to enjoy that before it is over. This is a very pure picture of our adventure through the park to take photos for this project. It is like a 'behind the scenes' picture which I really love.

Photo 6:

The song I chose for my favourite and last picture is "Are you bored yet?" - Wallows, Clairo. The lyrics that reminded me of this song is "Cause we could stay at home and watch the sunset. But I can't help from asking, "Are you bored yet?"". The reason why I chose this song is because I absolutely adore sunsets. They make me happy and I can look at them for hours and hours. They make me admire the world and their beauty. I think the song describes that feeling really good.




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page